2012 SCAA Board of Directors Elections Now Open

The 2012 Board of Directors Elections are now open to Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) members (must be a current voting member of the SCAA). We have an excellent slate of nominees for the 2012 SCAA Board of Directors. Please be sure to review candidate profiles prior to voting.

Please cast your ballot prior to March 31, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to contribute to the governance of your trade association. Your vote is important.


2nd Vice President | Shawn Hamilton

Secretary/Treasurer | Ben Pitts

Directors | Willem Boot, Carolyn Fairman, Chad Trewick

Background Information:

The Board of Directors consists of thirteen Directors, including five officers. The officers of the Association are the President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and the Immediate Past President. Directors and officers are elected by the SCAA voting membership, except that the 1st Vice President automatically succeeds to the Presidency and the 2nd Vice President automatically succeeds to the 1st Vice Presidency at the end of their terms. This year, we are pleased to welcome Max Quirin to the position of SCAA President and Paul Thornton to the position of 1st Vice President, and current President Tim O’Connor will move into the role of Immediate Past President.

The President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, and Immediate Past President shall serve in each of those offices for terms of one year. The Secretary/Treasurer will serve in that office for a term of three years. All Directors are elected to serve terms of two years, except that those Directors who are also officers will continue to serve as Directors while they serve their terms in their respective offices. Terms for SCAA Directors will begin on May 1, 2012, right after the SCAA Event in Portland, Oregon. For more information about the voting process, please visit the SCAA Bylaws.

Election Timeline:

-Ballots are distributed for official SCAA Board of Directors election on February 29, 2012.
-Deadline for voting in official Board of Directors election is March 31, 2012.
-The election is certified and results are announced in May 1, 2012.